

Fruitport Community Schools ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Monday, January 16, 2023 – 7:00 p.m.

Meeting Location:

Fruitport Community Schools Central Office Board of Education Meeting Room 3255 E. Pontaluna Rd. Fruitport, MI 49415

- I. **CALL TO ORDER**: Per Board Policy 2506, Jason Kennedy, Superintendent, called the January 16, 2023 Annual Organizational Meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.
- II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by those in attendance.
- III. **ROLL CALL**: Present Elroy Buckner, Tim Burgess, Kris Cole, Susan Franklin, Dave Hazekamp, and JB Meeuwenberg. Absent Steve Kelly.

IV. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Item 23-1. MOTION by Franklin, SECOND by Hazekamp to approve the agenda, as presented.

MOTION CARRIED: 6-0; 1 absent

V. REMARKS FROM THE PUBLIC: None

VI. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

• President:

Item 23-2. MOTION by Buckner, SECOND by Franklin to nominate Dave Hazekamp for President. No other nominations were brought forth.

MOTION by Cole, SECOND by Buckner to close nominations and cast a ballot for Dave Hazekamp for President.

Roll call vote: Buckner - Yes; Burgess - Yes; Cole - Yes; Franklin - Yes; Hazekamp - Yes; Meeuwenberg - Yes. Absent - Kelly

MOTION CARRIED: 6-0; 1 absent

Superintendent Kennedy passed the gavel to President Hazekamp.

• Vice President:

Item 23-3. MOTION by Franklin, SECOND by Buckner to nominate Kris Cole for Vice President. No other nominations were brought forth.

MOTION by Franklin, SECOND by Burgess to close nominations and cast a ballot for Kris Cole for Vice President.

Roll call vote: Buckner - Yes; Burgess - Yes; Cole - Yes; Franklin - Yes; Hazekamp - Yes; Meeuwenberg - Yes. Absent - Kelly

MOTION CARRIED: 6-0; 1 absent

• Secretary:

Item 23-4. MOTION by Hazekamp, SECOND by Cole to nominate Susan Franklin for Secretary. No other nominations were brought forth.

MOTION by Meeuwenberg, SECOND by Cole to close nominations and cast a ballot for Susan Franklin for Secretary.

Roll call vote: Buckner - Yes; Burgess - Yes; Cole - Yes; Franklin - Yes; Hazekamp - Yes; Meeuwenberg - Yes. Absent - Kelly

MOTION CARRIED: 6-0; 1 absent

• Treasurer:

Item 23-5. MOTION by Cole, SECOND by Franklin to nominate Elroy Buckner for Treasurer. No other nominations were brought forth.

MOTION by Cole, SECOND by Franklin to close nominations and cast a ballot for Elroy Buckner for Treasurer.

Roll call vote: Buckner - Yes; Burgess - Yes; Cole - Yes; Franklin - Yes; Hazekamp - Yes; Meeuwenberg - Yes. Absent - Kelly

VII. DESIGNATE A DISTRICT EMPLOYEE AUTHORIZED TO POST BOARD MEETING NOTICES UNDER THE OPEN MEETINGS ACT

Item 23-6. MOTION by Franklin, SECOND by Cole to authorize Danielle Vandermuelen and Jason Kennedy as the designated employees authorized to post Board of Education meeting notices, per the Open Meetings Act.

MOTION CARRIED: 6-0; 1 absent

VIII. REMARKS FROM THE PUBLIC: None

IX. ADJOURNMENT

Item 23-7. MOTION by Buckner, SECOND by Franklin to adjourn.

MOTION CARRIED: 6-0; 1 absent. The meeting adjourned at 7:12 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan Franklin, Board Secretary

Danielle VanderMeulen, Recording Secretary